With papyrus and lotus flowers, you are greeted .and great kings and priests line up to greet you, And in a Roman architectural style, statues and designs for ancient Egyptian columns take you back through the ages in a journey through time to tell you the story of a civilization that spanned more than 7 thousand years and reveal the secrets of pharaohs that dazzled the world … and reveal invaluable treasures …
It is the Egyptian Museum, and since the Egyptian civilization through its long ages and in all its manifestations was one of the main tributaries of the broad river of human civilization, it has become the Egyptian Museum’s right to become a “symbol” of human civilization at any time and place, so there is no arrogance that the existing building becomes lofty in the heart Cairo, from a mere “museum” to its heels, pilgrims make pilgrimages to it, and visitors from all sides visit it to enjoy the well of civilization as a pleasure for the heart, a delight for the eye, and a healing for the soul.
Museum collections according to eras: The Egyptian Museum includes more than 150 thousand artifacts, the most important of which are the archaeological collections that were found in the tombs of the kings and the royal entourage of the middle family in Dahshur in 1894, and the museum now includes the greatest archaeological collection in the world that expresses all stages of ancient Egyptian history
signed: It is located in the heart of the Egyptian capital “Cairo” on the northern side of Tahrir Square. The museum is considered one of the first museums in the world that was established to be a public museum, unlike the museums that preceded it.
Its origins: The idea of establishing the museum dates back to the year 1835 AD, when Muhammad Ali Pasha issued a decree requiring the establishment of an antiquities department under the supervision of Rifa’a Al-Tahtawi to stop the looting of Egyptian antiquities and prevent them from being sent to European cities by foreign consuls accredited in Egypt. Al-Azbakeya area to be the first nucleus of the Egyptian Antiquities Museum, and a large number of various antiquities were transferred to it, but this work was not crowned with success, and the project stopped due to the death of Muhammad Ali. But he gave it to Duke Maximilian of Austria after a visit to that archaeological group in the castle as evidence of medical intent.
Entrance interface: The entrance to the museum is surrounded by two Greek columns, such as the one in the temple of Philae, and above the entrance is a bust of the goddess Hathor depicted as a female with two horns and between the two horns the sun disk, and on both sides of the entrance are two statues of the goddess Isis wearing a Greek costume and in the upper part on the right and on the left the years 1897 and 1901 are written in reference For the beginning and end of the work, there are also the letters “A – H” as an abbreviation for the name of Khedive Abbas Helmy II, who was built during his reign.
Museum building: The museum consists of two main floors. The ground floor contains heavy relics from coffins, paintings, and huge and large statues made of limestone and sandstone, such as the statue of Ramses II, Senusret, Khafre, Sphinx, Akhenaten and Hatshepsut.
As for the upper floor, it contains the relics of the modern state, the most famous of which is the group of the little pharaoh, or the golden “Tutankhamun”, in addition to two halls for royal mummies. The interior halls are spacious and the walls are high and natural light enters through the glass panels on the ceiling and from the windows on the ground floor, and the lobby The Central Museum is the highest part of the interior, where antiquities were displayed as they were in ancient temples. The building has been taken into account to include any future expansions, and it is commensurate with the requirements of facilitating the movement of visitors from one hall to another.